Happy New Year’s Chocolate rum balls!

Recipes

The first recipe I am taking over from my other blog:

While I was visiting my dad , we went to an organic food store and I found some vegan chocolate balls I wanted to try.

Foto am 30.12.14 um 09.16Foto am 30.12.14 um 09.16 #2

They were quiet good but not awesome, but they inspired me to make my own with a twist of rum and coconut.

Foto am 31.12.14 um 18.29 #2

They turned out wonderfully and I will surely make them again. They are the perfect welcoming the new year treat!

Ingredients:

150g pitted dates

25 g cocoa powder

100g shredded coconut

3/4 Cup flour (I used oat flour)

pinch of salt

2 TBSp rum extract (add more if you like a stronger flavor)

1 tsp vanilla extract

Water

Method:

1. Put dates in a medium bowl and cover them with water. Let it rest in the fridge for roughly 4 hours or until dates are completely soaked and very soft.

2. Using a blender mix the dates with the water they were in until you reached a smooth consistency.

3. add all the other ingredients into the bowl , except 25g of the shredded coconut. Mix well. The dough will be a little sticky but you should be able to roll little balls out of it, if not add more flour, if it is too dry add more water or some plant milk.

4. When you mixed it all together divide the dough into small pieces and form little balls out of them. Size depends on you. Mine were about 1.5 cm in diameter and I got 30 pieces.

(This is quiet a sticky work 😉 )

5. in a small bowl put the rest of the shredded coconut and roll the balls in the coconut until they are completely covered.

6. Arrange balls on a plate and keep them in the fridge for at least an hour before consuming, they will firm up a little more. If they are resting over the night they come out the best.

Wishing everyone a blissful new year with lots of peace , love and happiness!!

Carola

Leave a comment